Entering in… Staying with… Moving on…

IMG_4944
There is a rhythm in life. Lent is an important part of that rhythm in our missionary life to be healed and to heal others. We are wounded. We need rest in this rhythm to enter into a safe place, to stay with our healer and move on to continue the mission.

Home visitation is one of my favorite activities in the HIV/AIDS ministry. When we visit the family usually invites us to come in. We enter their house, we stay with them and then move on to the next visit. It seems a regular rhythm but each movement of entering, staying and going has a transforming experience.

I describe my journey in Myanmar in the beginning of this year with these three movements: Entering in, Staying with, and moving on.

Entering in…

My experience in Myanmar is something like an experience of entering in through the gate that took me on a journey where I would discover something. It is something beyond seeing beautiful places, and something beyond learning the language.

Buddhist Encounter. I did my retreat for a week at Buddhist forest monastery. On this journey, I was invited to enter into something deeper – our commitment to the dialogue of life with Buddhist people. We walk on the same path.

 

Myanmar Language. Myanmar is a beautiful language, but still a challenge! I have finished two intensive higher levels but still my learning does not come so easily. Well, learning the language is a journey. It is where we can talk to them deeply to their hearts, to their soul.

Staying with…

To stay with the people is to know them more! And discover something…

RNDM Connection. The elder RNDM sisters call me as “Maung Lay”, means a younger brother. I felt good! Not just of being at home with them but being assured that we have family who are praying for the Marists (elder RNDMs still praying for the Marists as their tradition). The church of Myanmar has also many inspiring stories to tell. Through difficulties and challenges, the Church remains courageous.

 

The suffering of Myanmar People. Myanmar people are very hospitable but they are suffering in many ways. They need healing. I heard the continuing conflicts and war particularly in Bhamo where we were before, is getting worst. This reminds us again to the invitation – to stay with them in their suffering.

Moving on…

After Myanmar, I had to go back to the community. I have to go back to the mission and see that God is moving us to the next level. God is moving us forward, moving us deeper.

Thank you for your constant prayers and support. Together we journey to enter, to share and to move with passion.

IMG_6973

Leave a comment